Creating a Learning Journal in RISE using the Learner comments array in a SCORM 2004 LMS

May 09, 2024

I've published a few articles about creating downloadable notes or learning journals from a RISE course such as this one:

Creating a Learning Journal in Articulate RISE - Rise 360 Discussions - E-Learning Heroes

And we recently ran a free workshop on how to do this. Our 'go to' method has been to create Storyline Blocks to capture the learner notes, store the notes in local browser storage until the end of the course when we include another Storyline Block using the pdf-lib JavaScript library to fill in a pdf form template and create the downloadable journal. And this works just fine.

However, we were recently asked to look at whether it was possible to use the learner comments facility in SCORM 2004 rather than local browser storage which has the disadvantage of losing the notes if you pause the course and resume on a different device.

I'm not a SCORM expert and, frankly, I'm not a big advocate of using SCORM either - it's an old and somewhat limited standard in modern elearning design terms. (The clue is in the name - the latest major version is 20 years old!) BUT a lot of clients still use it so we thought we had better investigate the options.

The good news is that it is certainly possible! The bad news is that the JavaScript code is far from trivial - and there are no guarantees it will work on ALL 'SCORM compliant' LMS's. (SCORM compliant doesn't mean you always implement all the features - although, in this case the SCORM 2004 documentation does make it mandatory to support the SetValue and GetValue methods necessary to build this for RISE).